Uncategorized

Stitch Fix // vol. 1

So I just started my Stitch Fix subscription. A box arrives at your door with five clothing items picked out personally by a stylist for you. You can get this box as often as you want, the typical is once a month or once a season. How does she know what to pick? You fill out a style profile by answering a bunch of questions about your taste and size. She can also look at your Pinterest board to get some ideas. After you get your first fix, you can give extensive feedback to personalize your style even more.

You purchase what you love and return what you don’t with an already prepaid package that comes in the box. There is a $20 styling fee, but if you purchase one of the items, the $20 goes to that purchase. You get to try everything on in the comfort of your home and mix and match with your closet (something you can’t do at the store).

Now these are high quality clothes that will last. It ain’t cheap. Each item averages about $55, which is way more than what I was paying before. I have been looking into shrinking my closet after reading Shannon’s post about chucking 2/3 of her closet, and overall having better nicer clothes versus a lot of crappy clothes. The expense is worth it because these clothes are personally chosen for me, and I didn’t have to spend hours going to the store and going through all the racks myself, and free shipping. If you love all five items, you get 25% off of the total, which makes it all the more worth it.

Stitch Fix isn’t for everybody, but I am encouraging you to try it. This is my first box and I plan on it arriving at my doorstep every 1-3 months. It’s perfect for you if you are a very busy person, have children that make it a challenge to go shopping, hate shopping, or just need to update your wardrobe.

Do you want to learn more about Stitch Fix? I first heard about it from Haley. I encourage you to read her post if you are curious.

Here is my experience with my first box!

1. 

img_8263-2

img_8254-2

 

I requested some outfits that I could wear for either Church or nights out because most of my closet is very casual. I got this shirt, and I really liked the pattern and the combo of the blues and reds. I was not a fan of the tassels. It is light and needs a tank underneath, but I thought it would be perfect for this cooler weather, and I loved that I could roll up the sleeves and button them. I kept it and cut off those silly tassels! Peter liked it and said I could travel India wearing this.

 

 

2. 

img_8255-2

 

I don’t know how she did it but these pants fit me perfectly. With this postpartum body and hardly know what my sizes are. On my Pinterest board I was posting different colored pants. I was interested in burgundy or forest green. I got these and really liked the color, but they are corduroy and I was immediately turned off.The color was also a bit intense for me even if they were a different material.

 

3.


img_8256-2img_8257-2I mentioned to my stylist that I was going to a wedding and she threw in this dress that I can actually nurse Zelie in! Peter loved it so I had to keep it. I’m afraid it was snug around the tummy and hips so I exchanged it for a larger size. I wore a different adorable black dress at the wedding I found at Kohl’s with pockets. I’ve been needing more nice dresses for bigger events so I’m excited for this guy to come back.

 

4.


img_8258-2img_8259-2

Eesh. Pete and I did not like this. I thought the style was cute and one of my favorite scarves is this exact same color, but I felt…frumpy? We couldn’t figure it out. Bye-bye ugly dress (shame shame, it was nursing friendly).

 

5.

 

 

img_8242-2img_8247-2Ahhh, here’s the big winner! I posted a similar style scarf on Pinterest and I got this super awesome blanket scarf! I squealed when I saw it. I can do my two favorite scarf ties, or honestly just wrap it around myself on these chilly mornings around the house with a cup of coffee in hand.

 

img_8243

There you have it! Returned two. Kept two. Exchanged one. I’m so excited to get my October Fix!

**Links to Stitch Fix is my referral link which means I get $25 credit when your first Fix is shipped (which means I can continue making these posts).

One thought on “Stitch Fix // vol. 1

Leave a Reply

